Samsung SyncMaster 205 BW

Once upon a time, I was in the market for a flat panel monitor to replace my aging CRT. I invested some of my time reading reviews of the many different models and decided to purchase a Samsung SyncMaster 205 BW. I reasoned that the competition between flat panel monitor manufacturers were such that the quality of the models currently available would be more than adequate for my needs. I was not a ‘hardcore’ gamer or a graphics professional so my needs were not particularly demanding.

I enjoyed the 20 inch panel monitor very much. But, a month later, something very unexpected began to take place; the monitor began to ‘sag’. At first, it appeared that someone simply tilted it downwards ever so slightly. But, as time passed, the monitor leaned so far forward that it was obvious the ‘spine’ of the monitor had failed. I looked at the piece involved and it appeared to be made of a metal material. It seemed that a great deal of force was required to break this piece and I had trouble imagining the circumstances which would cause such a break to occur.

A quick call to the store from which I purchased my Samsung revealed that my monitor suffered a defect and that others who purchased the same model were suffering the same spine problem. In fact, according to the store staff, the first person to report the problem was initially suspected of causing the damage himself! I understood that the metal piece must have appeared to be very strong, but that simply was not the case. It must have been frustrating for that man.

I promptly attempted to Google flat panel monitor reviews for any mention of spine or hinge or platform related problems and came up empty handed. Each online reviewer focused on the visual quality of the monitors and made no consideration to the platform upon which it is based. So, the next time I look for another flat panel monitor, I’ll ask if the monitor platform suffers any defects and avoid platforms which seem too complicated and delicate.

Of course, after I dropped my monitor off for the manufacturer’s warranty, the fam and I began a good , ol’ fashioned fist shaking ritual:

You know, they sure don’t make ’em like they used to. You’d never suffer a problem like this with a CRT monitor. Look at mine! 5 years old! It’s still goin’ strong! It may be the size of a microwave oven and even cooks like one! But it works! A spine problem? Oooooh Lordy! Maybe tomorra my mice will start comp’aining ’bout a lasy eye!

Lasy eye…AHAHAHAHA…I kill myself.

2 responses to “Samsung SyncMaster 205 BW

  1. My son recently gave me his very nice Samsung SyncMaster 205 BW monitor. When I brought it home and set it up, I noticed that the screen was sagging. I waited until my son came to visit before setting it up and had to listen to him keep asking me what I had done to this monitor. I told him that I treated this monitor like a new born baby carrying it home in a blanket and gently setting it up on the computer desk. Thank you for this comment as I am emailing him your website so he can see that I did not do anything to this monitor. It was a bracket problem after all. Now, all I need to do is find a way of getting it fixed, otherwise, it is useless to me.

  2. This is definitely a late reply to your comment but I am pleased that my post has helped someone in some small way. Monitors typically have a one year manufacturer’s warranty so the most sensible thing to do is to call up the store you bought your unit from. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

